fiction kitchen

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This week’s DTR adventure takes us to a very small, but very bright restaurant located in the warehouse district of downtown called The Fiction Kitchen. It sits near the corner of Dawson Street ad W Cabarrus Street and it’s bright green exterior makes it hard to miss. The Fiction Kitchen is a full vegetarian restaurant meaning every single item on their menu is 100% vegetarian friendly. This was my first time visiting a vegetarian restaurant and even though I myself am not a vegetarian I was really excited to try something new. To begin with I was a little nervous about what to order because I wasn’t sure of a lot of the menu items but after discussing all the options with one of the waitresses, I was ready to order my first vegetarian meal.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I’m no expert on vegetarian foods, but the Fiction Kitchen had a variety of very unique items on their menu. For appetizers they had a couple of different things to choose from such as vegetable root fries (which are amazing), squash and zucchini cakes, lettuce wraps and cornmeal-fried oyster mushrooms. They also have a small selection of soups and salads to go along with their appetizer selection. Some of their entree options include the NC peanut noodle bowl,  a curry bowl, a braised and grilled tempeh sandwich, succotash farro risotto, “chicken” and waffles, eastern NC styled BBQ pulled “pork” and tinga tacos. The waitress that I had was absolutely fantastic and took the time to go over and  explain what each of the meals were.

After telling you all the awesome things that FK has to offer, you’re probably wondering how much of a dent a meal here is going to put in your wallet. Well here it is, it’s not going to hurt at all. The Fiction Kitchen is a totally affordable vegetarian restaurant with all of their meals being fifteen dollars or less. You definitely don’t have to worry about wasting money here, because the value and quantity is totally worth the money you’re paying.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

what I ordered:

My favorite part of each of my blog posts is telling you all what awesome meal I ordered while visiting each restaurant. This week was a little bit different for me though. Like I mentioned earlier, I am not vegetarian so I was completely new to all these meals and especially the substitute meat. After much consideration, I decided to order the crispy fried “chicken” and waffles.

At first I was really skeptical about ordering any kind of substitute meat (I am a true meat lover) but after talking to my waitress I was confident with my choice. The “chicken” part of the meal is of course not actually chicken, it is a mock version made of soy products made pretty locally in Morrisville, NC.

The meal was presented as a belgian waffle with the mock chicken on top, then topped with arugula and agave as well as blueberries. I thought the meal was absolutely fabulous and I would definitely recommend it to any first time visitors at the Fiction Kitchen. The mock chicken was actually pretty good, but it definitely wasn’t the real thing. After visiting FK for the first time, I would most definitely come back again. I had a lot of fun exploring the menu and I cannot wait to try something else the next time I visit.

If you’re ever looking for an awesome vegetarian restaurant, Fiction Kitchen is the place to go. With all that being said, be sure to check back next week to see where I visit next!

9 thoughts on “fiction kitchen

  1. I enjoyed this blog post because I haven’t heard of many vegetarian restaurants. This sounds like a cool place to try! I myself am not a vegetarian either but I do like to try and eat healthy and vegetarian food is usually pretty healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment