dos taquitos xoco

null

Well, it’s Thursday again so that means we have a new downtown Raleigh restaurant for you. This week we stopped by a sweet (or maybe not so sweet) little place called Dos Taquitos XOCO located in the heart of downtown Raleigh, right on Glenwood Avenue. As you maybe be able to tell from the name, Dos Taquitos is a Mexican/Tex-Mex style restaurant that has a very funky but vibrant vibe. When you walk in the doors you become immediately overwhelmed by all the decorations covering the walls as well as hanging down from the ceiling. They have indoor and outside seating as well as bar seating. If you catch them on the right day when the weather is nice, I would definitely recommend sitting outside.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This was my first time ever going to Dos Taquitos (and I love Mexican food) so I was really excited to go and see what they had on the menu. I went around lunchtime so they had a lunch special menu which had a lot of great choices. Just about everything on the lunch menu was under ten bucks, which is freaking awesome. They had everything from fajitas, to tacos, as well as quesadillas and soup. Along with the lunch menu they also have a full menu available any time of the day with lots of different choices. After talking with one of the waiters about their menu she told me some of their most popular items on the menu were the Enchiladas de Puebla (three enchiladas each with different fillings and sauce), Steak Tacos, Tacos de Mariscos (tacos with either tilapia or shrimp), and the chicken quesadilla. If you’re a taco fanatic I would also recommend joining Dos Taquitos on Thursdays for their karaoke night where they have a $10 taco buffet. That’s right, all the tacos you want for just ten bucks.

Along with an awesome lunch/dinner menu, Dos Taquitos also has a great drink menu. They run specials just about everyday on margaritas, draft beer, and other mixed drinks. If you’re of age take advantage of these awesome deals and enjoy some hearty Mexican food while you’re at it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

what I ordered:

Since I was trying a new restaurant for the first time, I wanted to order something I wouldn’t traditionally order at a Mexican restaurant. After much deliberation, I decided to take advantage of the lunch specials and order the “Fagrillitas.” I don’t normally order any kind of fajitas because I’m not a huge fan of spicy things, but these fajitas were awesome. My plate came as a skillet filled with peppers, onions, squash, and tomatoes along with flour tortillas and a bowl of toppings including sour cream, guacamole, lettuce and pico de gallo. As you can see from the picture, they vegetables came out still cooking and I absolutely couldn’t wait to build my fajitas. I was a little nervous to try them at first but after taking the first bite I was sooo happy with my meal. The vegetables had the right amount of seasoning, not too hot but just right, and with the toppings, the fajitas were perfect.

Another thing that is absolutely to die for is the Queso (cheese dip) and Guacamole. I went with one of my friends during lunch and decided to get both dips to share between the two of us. Let me just tell you, they have some of the best queso and guacamole that I have ever had. No lie. I would definitely recommend ordering one of them, if not both.

If you’re interested in a good Mexican food and looking for a cool place to hang out with friends, eat dinner with your family, or have date night with your significant other, I say go to Dos Taquitos. You won’t regret it and your pocket won’t too much either.

Also, if you would like to read more about Dos Taquitos be sure either to visit their Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/DosTaquitosXoco) or head on over to “The Triangle Explorer” and see what they have to say! (http://triangleexplorer.com/2013/04/12/a-peek-inside-dos-taquitos-xoco-in-downtown-raleigh/)

Like what you’ve been seeing? Love eating in the downtown Raleigh area? Be sure to keep reading to see where I go next!

5 thoughts on “dos taquitos xoco

  1. Wow, your pictures alone make me want to visit Dos Taquitos! Mexican food is probably my favorite thing to eat, and after reading your post, I know I need to go to this restaurant. And the fact that it’s located right on Glenwood Avenue makes it super convenient for me!

    Like

  2. When I read your article about dos taquitos coco I became hungry immediately. If I ever go i’ll be sure to try and go on a thursday when the all you can eat tacos are $10, although the fajitas sound great as well.

    Like

  3. I have never heard of Dos Taquitos, but I feel that I should go check it out now after reading your post on it. I was looking for restaurants that served Mexican food and the review you gave for Dos Taquitos fits the bill in terms of where I want to eat at. I appreciate the use of pictures as well. A visual of the food helps me decide on whether I would want to eat at that restaurant or not.

    Like

Leave a comment