the pit

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The next stop on our adventure is at a little hidden place on W. Davie street in Downtown Raleigh called The Pit. There aren’t too many barbecue places around Raleigh but this one is a must visit. The Pit is an authentic barbecue joint in the warehouse district of DTR that cooks whole-hog, pit-cooked barbecue. This restaurant is very unique to its location because you wouldn’t typically find a barbecue place in this part of town. But the southern vibe and downtown location make the perfect location for The Pit.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For anyone who loves any kind of southern food, you can most definitely find what you’re craving somewhere on The Pit’s menu. They have just about anything you could possibly want. Some of their most popular items are of course the Chopped BBQ, Pulled Pork, and the Southern Fried Chicken. They of course have lots of other options such as Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Ribs, Chopped BBQ Turkey, BBQ Chicken, and Beef Brisket. All of these meals are served as “plate” with two sides, and let me tell you, it is not easy choosing only two. The side options include green beans, BBQ baked beans, macaroni and cheese, black-eyed peas, fries, sweet potato fries, potato salad, brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes, fried okra, brunswick stew, cole slaw and collards. Along with your meal they also bring out homemade biscuits and hushpuppies with homemade butter.

Like most other restaurants in the Downtown Raleigh area, they also have a very unique and broad drink menu. They have different specials on wine, cocktails and beer and also feature some local brews. I went with a sweet tea though, which was pretty good in my opinion.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

what I ordered:

Being from a small town like Wilson, NC (where barbecue is practically famous, shoutout to Parker’s Barbecue) it wasn’t hard for me to make a decision about what I wanted. I know how I like my barbecue and I know what I want with it. So after little deliberation I decided to order the Chopped BBQ plate with a side of fried okra and macaroni and cheese. The barbecue was awesome and the two side were equally as good. The macaroni and cheese is to die for, so if your a fan of mac and cheese, I definitely recommend it!

The Pit is a bit more pricey than your average barbecue joint. But for the quality of food, the presentation, and the atmosphere of the restaurant, it is definitely worth it. The service was also really good and the staff were very friendly. Even on a busy Monday evening I still got in and out within an hour and half time frame. I really enjoyed eating at The Pit because there aren’t many places around Raleigh like this one to eat. It reminds me of the type of restaurants I go to when I’m home and it’s nice to have found somewhere that is similar.

If you ever in the neighborhood looking for some good southern food, be sure to head on over to The Pit. For more information about the restaurant, their menu, and their specials, be sure to visit their website at http://www.thepit-raleigh.com!

6 thoughts on “the pit

  1. I absolutely love the atmosphere of this restaurant. I really like that each of your blog posts are so detailed! by the way, your pictures are always so great!

    Like

  2. I only been to The Pit one time and that was the one in Durham. The food is so good. The way you named all the food and sides they have made me so hungry! I want The Pit NOWWW!!

    Like

  3. OH MY GOD The Pit is the best restaurant in Raleigh (my opinion). I am a ribs guy…………….and love their BBQ and sauce. As you said the mac and cheese is to die for, I love mac and cheese and to me it goes so well with pulled pork and BBQ sauce. I don’t know if you are a greens person but they have the best collard greens in my opinion, they are so good and because they let a piece of meat cook with them the flavor is just amazing (I believe its a piece of port fat or a cut of meat like that). Don’t even get me started on their sweet potatoes. I think it is so awesome that you take your own pictures and actually go to every restaurant and eat in, that is so personal and true.

    Like

  4. I have never actually heard of The Pit until your post, and I’ve lived in Raleigh for 3 years now! I definitely think that I’ll have to try this place out soon and I’ll probably order exactly what you did. I love friend okra and who doesn’t love mac and cheese? Is their barbecue more vinegary or saucy?

    Like

Leave a comment