carolina ale house

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

It’s been a while since I visited a new restaurant, I decided to try somewhere that I’ve heard a lot of people have been recently talking about. Carolina Ale House, which just recently relocated to the Downtown Raleigh area, is on the corner of Glenwood Ave and Tucker Street and is a sports themed restaurant and bar. This restaurant is a little different from the places I normally visit because unlike the others, it is a chain restaurant. But Carolina Ale House originated right here in Raleigh, so it’s basically a local restaurant. Along with the DTR location they have twenty five other locations throughout North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Texas and Tennessee. This was my first visit to the new location and I was so amazed by the layout of the restaurant. It is located in a three story building with the third story being the primary place to dine. They have very open seating and on a nice day you can beat sitting by an open window.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The Carolina Ale House has a variety of different things on their menu including sandwiches, burgers, soups, salads, pizza, and chicken wings. They also have over a hundred different types of beer and run specials every single week. Some of the most popular items on the menu are the Buffalo Zinger Wrap, Caribbean Fish Tacos, the Pub Burger, Beer-Battered Fish and Chips, and the Southern Fried Chicken Salad. On Wednesday’s they have $3 pints and on Thursdays they have karaoke from 10 pm until close along with live music on Saturday nights.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

what I ordered:

It was very hard to choose between at the great items on the menu, but I ultimately chose the veggie pizza. Consisting of spinach, mushroom, red onions, red peppers, tomatoes and mozzarella, the veggie pizza is not only an idea for vegetarians but also a great choice for any pizza lover. I wasn’t expecting a large pizza, but the size was a lot bigger than I expected. It had six slices and was enough for a meal and leftovers.

Also before the food came, I couldn’t help but order the “Frickles,” also known as fried pickles. I’m a huge pickle lover so it wasn’t hard for me to decide to order these at all. They come with a creamy horseradish sauce, but I don’t typically eat horseradish sauce so I substituted ranch instead, which I would definitely recommend. The portion wasn’t too small either, one order was enough for two people. They have a lot of great appetizer choices so I would totally recommend ordering one.

If you haven’t visited the new Carolina Ale House location, you need to head downtown and give it a try. With an awesome view, you guaranteed to have a great dining experience. They have plenty of food and drink choices so you can always try something new. For more information about Carolina Ale House you can visit their website at carolinaalehouse.com!

Be sure to check back every week to see where I go next!

8 thoughts on “carolina ale house

  1. They originated in NC, wow I did not know that. The Carolina Ale House on Falls of Neuse is near my house.The Frickles sound interesting, I’d like to try them. If you like the food and you like hockey you should go there on one of the Canes Cool Bars nights.

    Like

  2. I ate at the Carolina Ale House one time in Durham, It was a bad experience lol. I pass the new one sometimes to avoid lights coming to school. I definitely want to try it again cause I probably caught them on a bad day. The other cool thing is that the app postmates have this restaurant on it, so you can get it delivered to you! Awesome. I can’t wait to visit and try the pickles.

    Like

  3. Thanks for persuading me to go to the Carolina Ale House. It sounds like a great time and your pictures do a good job of communicating that. I’ll be sure to check it out with some friends to see if my experience is similar to yours.

    Like

  4. Your post totally does the Carolina Ale House justice. Good choice with your order, the veggie pizza is also my favorite! …fried pickles are also always a good choice. I might have to take a trip downtown for lunch!

    Like

  5. I just realized the other day the Ale house was downtown, and I was wondering how I had never seen it there! Makes sense now! Also, I had no clue they originated in Raleigh! Thanks for all the info, I definitely want to check the new location out. What are the first and second floors primarily used for?

    Like

Leave a comment